Honors for Richard Morris Hunt Laureates

Mary Brush, Russell A. Davidson (2016 AIA National President), John Sorrenti (College of Fellows Chancellor)

Mary Brush, Russell A. Davidson (2016 AIA National President), John Sorrenti (College of Fellows Chancellor)

Mary Brush RMHP Fellow 2005, has joined the ranks of the American Institute of Architect’s prestigious College of Fellows, one of the highest honors the Institute can bestow upon a member, representing just 2.5 percent of the nearly 85,000 AIA members. Among the 147 new Fellows inducted in 2016, a record 22 percent are women! We now count four Hunt Prize laureates among AIA Fellows, including Pierre-Antoine Gatier (RMHP Fellow 1991), Ruth Todd (1994), and Raymond Plumey (2001).


Florence Declaveillère, RMHP Scholar 2016, ranked first in order of merit in the recent national competitive exams to qualify as Architecte et Urbaniste de l’Etat (AUE). A graduate

2016 RMHP Scholar Florence Declaveillère

2016 RMHP Scholar Florence Declaveillère

of the Ecole Nationale Supérieure d’Architecture de Lyon and licenced to practice in her own name (HMONP) in 2015, Declaveillère is assistant to the Director of architecture and preservation services for France’s Ain district.  Florence will develop her research topic — “Riverbank Design:  From an Economic Development Tool to a Propeller for Urban Quality” in the United States.


2016 Laureates Elected in Paris



Photo B. Scharff

Photo B. Scharff

Paris, Friday, 11 December 2015 — On December 11th, the prestigious French-American RMH Prize Jury convened at the Hotel de Talleyrand in Paris, chaired by William Kerr of the AAF Board of Regents. Respecting its rule of alternating each year between American and French architects,the Jury awarded the26th RMH Fellowship to Lucas Monsaingeon and the 3rd RMH Scholar Prize to Florence Declaveillère. Continue reading

RICHARD MORRIS HUNT PRIZE Jury meeting, December 11, 2015


Jury meeting, December 11, 2015

Hôtel de Talleyrand – George C. Marshall Center, Paris

See invitation here


Members of the Jury

William T Kerr (Chair) American Architectural Foundation, Board of Regents Member, Partner, Eaglepoint Advisors, North Palm Beach, Florida

Philippe Bélaval, Conseiller d’État, Président du Centre des Monuments nationaux (CMN)

Julia Fendrick, Cultural Counselor at the Embassy of the United States of America

Pierre-Antoine Gatier, ACMH, IGMH, ICOMOS International Executive Committee, 1991 RMH Fellow

Mireille Grubert, Architecte Urbaniste en Chef de l’Etat, Directrice du Centre des Hautes Etudes de Chaillot

Florence Jeanjean, RMH Prize France Program Director

Michele le Menestrel Ullrich, FHS Founding President, RMHF Founder, Co-Chairman

Léopold Lombard, Architecte, LafargeHolcim Architect Relations Director

Alain Marinos, Inspecteur Général de l’architecture et des espaces protégés, Chaillot Professor, ENSA Belleville

Philippe Prost, Architect and Urban Planner, Professeur ENSA Paris-Belleville

Didier Repellin, ACMH, IGMH

Stéphanie de Ricou, Ateliers de Ricou/ Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant

Jean Christophe Simon, Inspecteur Général des Monuments Historiques, Collège des Monuments Historiques, 1993 RMH Fellow

Jose Maria Ullrich y Rojas, Ambassador of Spain, FHS Advisory Committee

Antoine Vernholes, Publisher, L’Architecture d’Aujourd’hui (‘A’A’)


RMHF France Managing Team Observers

Donatella Andreani

Diana Gonzales

Cynthia Lasserre de Vezeronce

Diane Saint Olive

Joseph Warner

Jacqueline Mainguy (associée)



Ronald E. Bogle, Hon. AIA, AAF President and CEO, RMH Prize Co-Chairman

Elizabeth Stribling, Chairman, Stribling Associates, New York, French Heritage Society Chairman

Lisa Bonner, AAF, Attorney

25th Richard Morris Hunt Prize. 6 and 7 December 2013.

On December 6, the RMHF Franco-American jury, met at the Hôtel de Talleyrand in Paris and awarded, according to his rule of alternation, the Richard Morris Hunt Fellowship to a French architect, heritage specialist, Laurent Duport , which becomes the 25th RMH Fellow and has also appointed a Scholar, Axelle Macardier, which becomes the second Scholar of RMHF.

Then, Saturday, December 7, a ceremony was held at the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in honor of Richard Morris Hunt and American architects graduates like him this prestigious school.